Sebastien celebrates (WestIndiesCricket photo)
Sebastien celebrates (WestIndiesCricket photo)

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad – Defending champions Windward Islands will face Jamaica on the opening day of the NAGICO Super50 2014 Tournament on Thursday, January 30 at Queen's Park Oval.

This will be the first match of what promises to be an action-packed tournament featuring 15 games in just over two weeks. The matches will be played at the historic Queen's Park Oval in Port-of-Spain and the picturesque Shaw Park in Tobago.

The Final will also be played at the Oval on Saturday, February 15 with Sunday, February 16 as the reserve rain day.

The WICB on Friday unveiled the fixtures for the event which will be contested by eight teams in two zones. Zone A will include the champs Windward Islands, Jamaica, Guyana and Ireland while Zone B will include hosts Trinidad & Tobago, Barbados, Leeward Islands and Combined Campuses & Colleges – last year's losing finalists.

Shaw Park will host two matches in Zone B: the marquee contest between arch-rivals Trinidad & Tobago and Barbados on Thursday, February 6; and CCC vs Leewards a day earlier.

"As we start the new year the atmosphere is certainly building as we prepare for what will be a superb NAGICO Super50 2014 Tournament in Trinidad and Tobago," said Michael Muirhead, CEO of the WICB.

"Most of the matches will be played at Queen's Park Oval, which is one of the leading cricketing venues in the world. We are also delighted that the fans in Tobago will get a golden opportunity to see their favourite players in action as well."

Mr Muirhead added: "The schedule for any tournament or event attracts a lot of attention as spectators are always eager to see when their team is playing and when the 'big matches' will be contested. Based on the nature of this tournament we foresee all games as 'big match-ups' in the battle to lift the Clive Lloyd Trophy and be crowned NAGICO Super50 Champions for 2014."

The NAGICO Super50 Champions 2014 will be televised live throughout the Caribbean on ESPN. The official start times and full squad lists will be announced at a later date.



Thursday, 30th: Windwards vs Jamaica at Queen's Park Oval

Friday, 31st: Guyana vs Ireland at Queen's Park Oval


Saturday, 1st: CCC vs T&T at Queen's Park Oval

Sunday, 2nd: Barbados vs Leewards at Queen's Park Oval

Monday, 3rd: Windwards vs Ireland at Queen's Park Oval

Tuesday, 4: Jamaica vs Guyana at Queen's Park Oval

Wednesday, 5th: CCC vs Leewards at Shaw Park

Thursday, 6th: T&T vs Barbados at Shaw Park

Friday, 7th: Windwards vs Guyana at Queen's Park Oval

Saturday, 8th: Jamaica vs Ireland at Queen's Park Oval

Sunday, 9th: CCC vs Barbados at Queen's Park Oval

Monday, 10th: T&T vs Leewards at Queen's Park Oval

Wednesday, 12th: Semi-final 1 – Zone A winner vs Zone B second at Queen's Park Oval

Thursday, 13th: Semi-final 2 – Zone B winner vs Zone A second at Queen's Park Oval

Saturday 15th: FINAL – Winner of Semi-final 1 vs Winner of Semi-final 2 at Queen's Park Oval