Students and officials pose after the ceremony
Students and officials pose after the ceremony

Twelve Dominican students have won Chinese government scholarship in 2019. The full scholarship covers tuition, lodging, comprehensive medical insurance and living allowance.

The Chinese Embassy in Dominica held the Chinese Government Scholarship Award Ceremony 2019 last week at Fort Young Hotel, in Roseau.

Attending were: H.E. Charles Savarin, President of the Commonwealth of Dominica and Mrs. Savarin; H.E. LU Kun, Ambassador of the People's Republic of China to the Commonwealth of Dominica; Catherine Daniel, Acting Minister for Education and Human Resource Development and Minister for Ecclesiastical, Family and Gender Affairs; Mrs. Chandler Hyacinth, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Education and Human Resource Development as well as several senior officials of the Dominica government.

Since the establishment of the diplomatic relations between the two countries in 2004, the Chinese Government Scholarship Programme has supported more than 150 Dominican students to study in Chinese universities for bachelor, masters and doctor's degrees in various fields.

The students were selected from numerous applicants to study at the top Ten Chinese Universities on programmes including engineering, information technology, medicine, management, business, international relations and agriculture among others.

Among the 2019 group eight are to pursue bachelor's degrees and four master's degrees.

The 12 students are: Terrick King, Charlton Mcclean, Alwinar Thomas, Tamia Webster, Jahre Harris, Tricia Sandrine Lewis, Nita Pascal, Jean Jacques Kimran, Ambo Chevon, Shaheda Annella Charles, Tichinah Jervier and Hildrich Yasmal Alexander.