Dominica Under-15 cricketers won their fourth Windward Islands Under-15 cricket championship – their first since winning a hat trick of championships which ended in 2007 – in St Vincent & the Grenadines (SVG) with five of a possible six wins for a most welcomed comeback.

Among the heroes for Dominica after having won one mach in Grenada, against St Lucia, last year were Leic Charles, Daneal Dupigny, Lee Louisy, Maldini Royer and Tahj Tavernier who all featured in that one victory in 2012.

They went on to prove their experience under the direction of coach, Thomas Kentish and manager, Fernix Thomas.

Dominica's formula this year of batting second brought rich rewards: four wins by seven-wicket margins against SVG, Grenada, St Lucia and Grenada in that order and by one wicket versus SVG (SVG 150 in 44.1 overs Dominica 151-9 in 33.5 overs) before losing their last to St Lucia by 98 runs (St Lucia 227-9 Dominica 129).

The points standing had Dominica on 10, Grenada 8, St Lucia 8 and SVG 0.

Captain Leic Charles amassed 193 runs which was second to Grenada's 13-year old Cariacou-born Emanuel Stuart who finished with 349 runs. Emanuel who is the first cricketer at any level to lead a Grenada team was named captain of the Windwards Under-15 team. Four Dominicans – Leic, Maldini, Daneal and Alick Athanaze are on that team. Kerwin Dupigny and Terrel Toussaint are on the reserves.

Dominica's young conquerors also included Dean Destouche, Ndo Joseph, Lestus Lewis, Gamaliel Ophar, Tahj Tavernier and Devonte` Williams.

Grenada were champions from 2008-2009 to 2012.